Profile Picture

Y-block rebuild topic

Posted By capri-53-54 13 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 13 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (17 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 13 Years Ago
Hi everybody!

As a newbie I would like to introduce myself. My name is Stephan and live in The Netherlands.

I found this forum specialized in Y-block and after searching the web I recognise a Y-block is a rare engine.

We ( my brother in law and me) onwn 2 lincoln capri coupés. The 54 coupe is in good shape ecxept the engine. When the engine is running and the car isn't moving a lot of carter fumes are being produced. So nasty that at a traffic light, your eyes start to irritate.

Looking at internet marketplaces we spotted a donor car, a 53 lincoln. The car rested in the nevada desert and the nature has done its work on it. Initially we bought the car as donor, but we are finishing this car as rat-look.

The idea is to use this engine which is in my garage now, for the 54 lincoln. The company which sold the donor car told me the engine was revised. But I have my doubts.

My wife and I own a 75 corvette stingray (www.stingray75.nl) where I've put on some edelbrock heads and a camshaft. So some experience is availlable for tearing appart the 53 engine. And I've attended a meeting where we dismantled a chevy engine and rebuild the engine again. I'm allso supported by several dvd's how to rebuild chevy engines.