Profile Picture

Tremec T-5 install in Thunderbird

Posted By Joe-JDC 2 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 2 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged

Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)Supercharged (1.8K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 6 hours ago
I have built and raced, Fox Mustangs since 1986, with WC T-5Z transmissions, I have a '86 GT with 383W stroker/5 speed, and just sold my 91 LX a couple of months ago, and gave my youngest son my '89 GT with 23K miles on it.  I have lots of experience with the T-5 transmissions, and lots of plastic gears for the speedometer cable.  The LX had 4.10 gears, my '86 has 3.73 gears, and my '89 GT now has 3.73 gears and WC-Z.  This T-5 came out of the '89 GT.   All those transmissions had a speedometer cable adapter for the cable end that goes into the transmission.  It has different cable ends from your pictures.  I can get pictures tomorrow.  If a regular speedometer cable for a truck will work, then I will try to find one locally.  Joe-JDC

JDC
charliemccraney
Posted 2 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged

Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)Supercharged (9.7K reputation)

Group: Moderators
I think there was a cable design change at some point in the '50s.

I didn't take a picture for reference, but what FORD DEARBORN shows looks like I remember.  '61 to ?? cables and gears seem to fit the T5 without any adapter needed.

Lawrenceville, GA
Ted
Posted 2 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Co-Administrator