Profile Picture

Only left bank burning oil

Posted By Tim Quinn 5 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!

Author
Posted 5 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged

Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)Supercharged (3.4K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 9 days ago
I have been reading this thread and understand the oil tube is missing ,my question is will this missing part increase the volume of oil so much that it will flood the head ,so much it will cause the smoking , or is it possible the head gasket was not properly installed and with the valve cover on the oil is truly flooding the head. I watched the video on YouTube where the rockers are pressureized and the is a large amount of oil it properly drains away and there is no smoke from the engine. I am no expert by any means but the video on YouTube seems pretty definitive. Seems like large amount of oil is ok if it drains properly.

That tube was put there for a reason by ENGINEERING to regulate oil delivery volume. If the engine makes/holds good oil pressure/volume and the rocker arm assemblies are within spec, there is no need (IMO) to modify anything on a street engine.

If the engine has been modified, yes you would address the valve-train lubricating assemblies. Pressurizing the shaft will give you this but it would have to be regulated, i.e. via restrictions to ensure equal flow and relief.

It is much more involved other than removing/restricting flow of the tube(s). Those tubes also lubricate the timing set as well as the distributor drive.

If he found the head overflowing with return oil, the tubes must be used or it will overwhelm the valve seals regardless of the type of seals used.

The above is IMO and your mileage may vary.

55 GLASS TOP
Posted 5 Years Ago
View Quick Profile