Profile Picture

1955 Y block 272 smokes after 5 minutes of running?

Posted By Bill Pabon 7 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 7 Years Ago
New to the forum and I have no experience at all with the "Y" block. My daughter 23 fell in love with a 55 4 door custom line and the father/daughter project commenced. The car appears to have been a "work in progress" when we bought it from an older gentleman who was no longer able to work on it because of health issues. Before we could get any details about what had been done to the car he had suffered a stroke and could not recall what had been done. So we took a chance on it resolving that the engine appeared to have fresh paint and fresh oil and the coolant was nice and clean in the radiator. Original "oil bath" breather was still in place etc...

After some research and trial and error we managed to get it to start and run after chasing down a 6 volt generator that was missing and new wires etc.. With new points, plugs installed and rebuilding the carb. New gas tank and fuel pump - it starts and runs just fine until the engine gets good and warm and we start to get bluish smoke after 5 to 6 minutes of running.