Profile Picture

oiling problem with 292 y block

Posted By mr12david21 10 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 10 Years Ago
im new to the form and new to the y block so im looking for any help i can get. i picked up a 64 ford pick up with a 292 y block and a 4speed. before going to look at the truck i was told that it had a rod knocking, but as soon as i heard it run i knew that it was the valves. i checked the lash on all the valves and set the lash at .19 and this fixed the knocking problem. while i had the covers off i realized that there was no oil. i did a little research and found that the y block is notorious for oiing problems. my questions are...

1.how do i check to see if my rocker shafts are on the right way? also if someone could explain how that assembly works. i dont understand how the oil is delivered to the rockers.

2. i found little pieces of metal by where the valve springs sit. what is that metal from? i read somewhere that this is a sighn that the motor was being ran with no oil getting to the top of the motor.

3. the rocker arms and shaft were heavily clogged with sledged up oil, i cleaned them a little bit and was wondering if its worth giving hem a deep clean or should just get a new set.

** im only looking to get a running motor. nothing special i just wanna be able to cruise it around once in a while**
charliemccraney
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged