Profile Picture

Bolt sizes and lengths

Posted By Tbird1956 5 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 5 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (10 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 5 Years Ago
Thanks for letting me join.

I am completely new to y blocks. My dad passed away and my mom gave me his 1956 Thunderbird. He had a 292 block that he had machined with the crankshaft and pistons etc installed. He also had the heads redone but they are not completely assembled. I bought some of the Elgin tubular pushrods and plan on buying a new timing chain and new head bolts. The problem I have is that all the block bolts are in a bucket and I don't know what bolts go where and their appropriate lengths. My uncle has done this before but also around 40 years ago so I would like to make sure that we put it together properly. I have been reading what I can about them on Facebook and was recommended this forum by a y block Facebook group member. I have also bought the ford y blocks book for reference. It lists some tips but I can use all the help I can get.

Thanks again.

Chad Current

Ted
Posted 5 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Co-Administrator

Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)Co-Administrator (12.5K reputation)

Group: Administrators
Last Active: 2 days ago
Welcome to the site.