Profile Picture

Thunderbird Overdrive Musings

Posted By Florida_Phil 6 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged

Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)Supercharged (2.9K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: Last Year
First, let me start out by saying I am not a professional mechanic nor do I claim to be an expert on transmissions.  Back in my racing days, I rebuilt a few transmissions out of necessity.  I rebuilt a T10 once and incredible as it may seem it actually worked afterward.  My current Ford is most likely the last old car I will ever own.  It's a culmination of all the things I always wanted when I was young; a 50s Ford, Y block engine, manual transmission and hot rod engine.  I bought this 55 TBird because it was a rust free west Texas car and it had a manual transmission. To my delight, it also turned out to be an Overdrive car because I had always heard Overdrive cars were faster, but I didn't know why.

When I first drove my TBird, I was confused about this transmission.  It freewheeled when decelerating without engine braking. I didn't like this as it was different than the 4 speeds I was used to. I actually thought it was broken.  After reading more about it, I learned this is normal. Once I figured out how O/D worked and how to drive it, I was hooked.