Profile Picture

rough idle, and wont accelerate??? please help

Posted By jbake57 6 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Problem Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (12 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 5 Years Ago
Hi guys, im new to this and i hope i'm posting this in the right place. about a week ago i got my 1957 f600 with a 272 back from my friend who did the rust repair for me. well this truck ran great since i bought it, and the previous owner had the engine rebuilt. and when i brought it back home it sat for about 3 days when i fired it up it ran long enough to go from the shop to the house (about 500 ft) and then just started, id call it chugging its like its running just fast enough to turn over. it smooths out for about 10 seconds with the choke on about 90% then starts "chugging" again and when you move the throttle it will just die no matter how slow you go to try to get it to climb. turning the distributor does not make it smooth out either. it still has the factory holley 2bbl i think its a 500 cfm. it has a new fuel pump if i can remember it was around 6 pounds i cant remember for sure. since this happened i've replaced condenser, points gapped to the spec in my shop manual, new coil, new wires/plugs, cleaned the carb with a fresh rebuild kit, tried a couple different metering blocks i have around that i know are good. the float level was set to just under the sight screw. new fuel lines and filter fresh gas. double checked the valve lash. also replaced the carb base gasket and intake manifold gask