Profile Picture

272 to 292 swap?

Posted By 19554doorcustomline 7 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Hitting on all eight cylinders

Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)Hitting on all eight cylinders (8 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 7 Years Ago
Hello im new to this fourm, so thank you in advance for any information. A few years back i bought a 1955 customline with a 272 3 speed. The motor is original to the car and only has 23,000 original miles on it. But it never seemed to run correctly. Enough to move under its own power but not all cylinders. Car sat for 6 years before i got it. Being young and dumb i believe it was my fault from the begining. But i believe it has a burnt valve. Atleast thats what many people say it seems like. I also was recently just givin a 292 that is suppossodly another low miles motor. Now my question is, would the heads from the 292 if in good shape go right onto the 272? Or if the motor is good would it be best to motor swap and hold on to the 272? And if i did that would my 3 speed bell housing still work on the 292 or is there just a mess of parts i would need to aquire to make it work? Any info or pointers would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Doby
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile