Profile Picture

Best Y block carb choices

Posted By Outlaw56 10 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged

Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)Supercharged (4.3K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Charlie, 
          I have zero experience with the 570. Are the primaries smaller on it than a comparable Edelbrock 1405 ?. That could explain the better response  at lower rpm's with a small inch motor. That was always the hard part of trying to make a 600 anything work o a 272 or under 300 inch anything. I also don't have any experience with the Edelbrock 500 on anything. I can only relate to the 312-600 combo, and we know that works pretty well. c
           I suspect that a lot of our "opinions" on this subject arise from one example (like mine) and really aren't worth much on another combination. Example, My 65 GTO came with a Carter AFB. Same carb as the Edelbrock of today. As soon as I modified the car it became undriveable. swapped a 750 Holley on it and it was all better. Therefore I don't like AFB's / Edelbrocks. Well i was wrong!
  On the street at least they are very good. I had some bad luck with Holley 10-15 years ago and became set against them. They've cleaned up their act and now are very good again. Careful about  opinions!!

Outlaw: Check Lokar's cable setup for the AOD. It works very well, had one on my 408 Ranger P/U.  

Frank/Rebop

Bristol, In ( by Elkhart) 

Outlaw56
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supercharged