BIRDS FRONT BRAKE SHOES

http://forums.y-blocksforever.com/Topic141858.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By paul2748 - 6 Years Ago
What are the differences between the TBird 55/56 front brake shoes and the TBird 57 brake shoes.  I see listing this way.  Size?  I don
t have any reference to see if the size of the 57 shoes are different.  I know 56's are 2 1/4 x 11

Thanks
By 57RancheroJim - 6 Years Ago
According to my 57 shop manual they are 11", but they list the primary shoe as 2" and secondary as 2 1/2". That seems strange to me but I'm not a Bird expert.
By Pete 55Tbird - 6 Years Ago
Paul, the 55/56 Tbird used the Ford Station Wagon brakes front and rear. The 57 Tbird used the Ford 9 inch rear end rather
than the Dana 44, used on the 55/56 Tbird. Start there Pete
Pete thanks - but the front's are the ones that show a difference.

57RancheroJim (11/30/2018)
According to my 57 shop manual they are 11", but they list the primary shoe as 2" and secondary as 2 1/2". That seems strange to me but I'm not a Bird expert.

Thanks Jim - I know it sounds funny, but maybe that's the difference.  The primary shoe on the 56 shows 1 3/4 (secondary 2 1/4).  Most sets today have the 2 1/4 for both primary and secondary based on the two sets that I have here

57RancheroJim (11/30/2018)

Paul, OK look up front brakes 1955/56 Ford Station Wagon/Courier on any parts website. A word of caution about turning the Drums.
I don`t know just when the MAX OVERSIZE was part of the Drum but .030 is a good LIMIT or distortion/warping can occur
when brakes are used and drums get HOT.   Pete 

Paul, if this is not the issue can you explain IN A DIFFERENT way what the issue is?
I'm only guessing but the 57 is probably heavier then the 55-56 hence the wider shoes?
By Sandbird - 6 Years Ago
Paul,
From the '57 TBird Engineering and Specifications Manual from CTCI the front secondary lining is 11" x 2 1/2" and the
front primary is 11" x  2".