New Member!

http://forums.y-blocksforever.com/Topic108804.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By MissVanDeVille - 10 Years Ago
Hi all, my name is Betsy and have a 54' Ford Customline I call Kruella! She has a 223 in her and Its been almost a week since I bought a 312 Y Block. Going to rebuild and drop her in the 54' gonna need some advice and help. I am new to place!
By Rono - 10 Years Ago
Betsy;
Welcome to the forum! There is no shortage of knowledge here when it comes to Y Blocks. Just ask away and good luck with your project!
Rono
By slick56 - 10 Years Ago
Hello Betsy, and welcome.
Where are you located?
Kansas
Thank you
By paul2748 - 10 Years Ago
Welcome.  I did just what you plan to do - a 312 in a 54 Ford, although my 54 was an original V8 car which made things easier.
Paul that is badass, love my 54! Bought her when I was 17-18 and now 26 I never want to get rid of her! Did pretty much wverything on her other than the trany work
By NoShortcuts - 10 Years Ago
Welcome to the Forum, Betsy.

Your '54 sedan looks great.  Déjà vu for me.  My first ever car purchase was a '54 Mainline business coupe from Arizona.  Business coupes came with no back seat.  Like Paul, mine was originally a V-8 with standard trans linkage when produced.  Purchased with no engine or trans, I initially installed a '54 239 with 3 speed overdrive, added  a '54 Merc intake and carb and found that '55 Ford dual exhaust manifolds cleared the clutch linkage.  My first ever engine rebuild was a '56 Merc 312 for it.  My recollection is that the registration weight on the car was 3100 lbs.

We're going way back on this... I remember changing the steering wheel because it was soooo big.  I also remember swapping the spindle steering arms using '56/'57 'Bird arms to improve the steering ratio.

Regards,
By glrbird - 10 Years Ago