Timing Set Question...

http://forums.y-blocksforever.com/Topic105675.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By MAD-EVAN - 10 Years Ago
Hey there everybody,

I have been lurking on here for quite a while just trying to soak up as much info as I could, but I have come to the point where I cannot seem to find a good answer.

I am in the process of rebuilding my 59 292 for my Fairlane. I have had all the machine work done to the block and am starting assembly now.  My question is about a timing set. I work in the automotive industry and get a "factory" style timing set quick and cheap. Is this the way to go or should I save my pennies and go for the roller timing set from rollmaster, or something similar?

The block was bored .30 over and is running a mild clay smith cam. It will have the Ford 4 barrel manifold with a holley 650 carb. I will be using the stock ford-o-matic transmission that came out of the car. I will be using the stock exhaust manifolds for now. Not going to be looking for high horsepower out of this project, just a reliable engine for the 4 door to cruise with.  

If there is anything I left out, please don't hesitate to ask. I am just trying to determine if I should go with a factory style timing set or a roller set.
Thanks guys,
Evan

By Hoosier Hurricane - 10 Years Ago
The factory style timing set will fit your needs just fine.
By NoShortcuts - 10 Years Ago
I'll second John's recommendation, Evan.  Info in previous Forum threads indicates that the original style silent timing chain assemblies are better suited for street and highway use because the chain will stretch less over the intended life cycle.

Timing chain stretch causes ignition timing 'float' at cruising rpm which is an indicator of timing variations that you don't want under other circumstances such as engine acceleration or deceleration.